Quick help with loading map from 2D Array

• Sorry I'm still a bit new with Flixel and for some reason reason I cannot get my map to appear on the screen. I don't really know what I'm doing wrong because most tutorials/questions asked about loading maps is used with .loadMap() and not .loadMapFrom2DArray or the other loads. I am not getting any errors from this, only a black screen when I load up the game I'm working on. Any help would be appreciated and I'll be willing to answer any questions you have about the code I have.

Basically I have

_map.loadMapFrom2DArray(mapData, AssetPaths.tiles2__png, 16, 16); 

where mapData is:

private var mapData:Array<Array<Int>> =  [[1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1],
    			                  [1,0,0,0,0,0,0,1],
    			                  [1,0,1,0,0,0,0,1],
    			                  [1,0,0,0,0,1,0,1],
    			                  [1,0,0,0,0,0,0,1],
    			                  [1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1]];

Then the basic add(_map)

• administrators

Black screen on what target? On Flash, this is often a symptom for an exception you're not seeing because you're not using the Flash Debug Player.

Have you tried Neko?

• I do have flash debug player in my FlashDevelop and I am getting no errors when I run the program. As Neko is concerned when I try to run it I get a warning saying "export/windows/neko/haxe/ApplicationMain.hx:205: characters 57-75 : Warning : Use programPath instead", but I don't really know how to use Neko to be honest. Like I said I'm still new to all of this.

• I notice your upperleft tile is 1. I could be totally remembering wrong, but I thought I read somewhere about that needing to be 0 for some reason.

• administrators

@IBwWG If that's the case, which I doubt, it'd be a bug.

• I bought the book Discover HaxeFlixel and it loads a map from an array a little differently.

First he declares the array like this, as a 1D array.

private var mapData:Array<Int> = [
    ];