switchState to existing state - playState->cutscene->platstate

• Hello,
    I am rather new to using Haxeflixel so perhaps this is obvious, but I am making a little game where multiple scenes are loaded in my main game play state, via tiled maps, and I switch the objects being drawn based on the current scene that is loaded. I would like to have some simple cutscenes after certain events, where afterwards the user is returned to the game. I had initially conceived doing this by extending FlxState and passing the state I wanted to return to.
    To test this, I switched to the TestState, representing the cutscene I had planned.
    In PlayState.hx I have

override public function update(elapsed:Float):Void
    {
        if (FlxG.keys.justPressed.SPACE) {
    	FlxG.switchState(new TestState(this));
        }
    }

and TestState is very simple

class TestState extends FlxState
    {

public var playState:PlayState;

public function new(state:PlayState) 
    	{
    		super();

playState = state;
    	}

override public function update(elapsed:Float):Void {
    		super.update(elapsed);

if (FlxG.keys.justPressed.SPACE) {
    			FlxG.switchState(playState);
    		}
    	}	
    }

However, when I try to switch states I get an error:

TypeError: Error #1009: Cannot access a property or method of a null object reference.
    at flixel.group::FlxTypedGroup/add()[C:\HaxeToolkit\haxe\lib\flixel\4,1,0\flixel\group\FlxGroup.hx:177]
    at PlayState/switchScene()[C:\Development\Haxe\TiledSidescroller\TiledSidescroller\source\PlayState.hx:62]
    at PlayState/create()[C:\Development\Haxe\TiledSidescroller\TiledSidescroller\source\PlayState.hx:34]
    at flixel::FlxGame/switchState()[C:\HaxeToolkit\haxe\lib\flixel\4,1,0\flixel\FlxGame.hx:634]
    at flixel::FlxGame/update()[C:\HaxeToolkit\haxe\lib\flixel\4,1,0\flixel\FlxGame.hx:724]
    at flixel::FlxGame/step()[C:\HaxeToolkit\haxe\lib\flixel\4,1,0\flixel\FlxGame.hx:674]