Troubles with FlxTilemap collisions

• Alright, the Internet, I need your help. I'm a relatively experienced programmer, but this is my first foray into Haxe and Flixel as well. I'm working on a game similar to Atari Breakout or DX Ball. Having extracted the relevant code, I am still faced with the same issue, when the ball sprite collides with the tile map, it destroys the brick it is normally supposed to, and then has another collision event (in the same frame!) with the brick immediately to the right of the correct brick. I had no issues with this using FlxG.collide, or FlxG.overlap, but now switching to FlxTilemap.overlapsWithCallback (which I would like to use for functionality purposes later on down the road), I have this weird effect.

gif of issue
    code

Thanks!

• administrators

That's very curious behavior indeed.. I wonder if this can be reproduced in the original AS3 Flixel.

• Seeing as I'm not sure what "original AS3 Flixel" is, I don't think I'm a good candidate to answer that question. I can tell you I have tried HTML, Neko, and C++ targets with Lime, all with the same result.

Not really sure what to try next ...

• administrators

Flixel originated as an ActionScript 3 Framework, and HaxeFlixel is a port of that (at this point, it has a lot more functionality however). Since the APIs you're using were all already present in AS3 Flixel (I think), it would be interesting to know if this is a bug that was already present there, or if this was newly introduced in HaxeFlixel. I might try porting your example to find out when I have some time.

• administrators

@classicError404 I isolated the example a bit and found that you're using a custom collision function via overlapsWithCallback(). Is there a particular reason for that? I don't think setting elasticity or immovable on a FlxTile instance really does anything.

Anyway, the problem goes away if you use a regular FlxG.collide() call instead:

FlxG.collide(bricks.tileMap, ball);