Fighting Game Info

• Hi. I was wondering if anyone with experience could help me out. I want to make a fighting game like Super Smash Bros. Melee and I have some questions that would probably help to have the answers to before starting. I've tried it in other engines and I've been thwarted by various things, and HaxeFlixel seems like a good fit so far. I'm still a relatively new programmer, so a lot of advanced concepts escape me, which seem to be important to make a game like this.

So here are my questions so far based on problems I've had:

• What is the best practice in HaxeFlixel for working with timing? Games like this demand precision, so it is a very important factor. I assume I should be using a fixed timestep. So do I just set it to 60fps and forget about it? Is there any way to allow the graphics to be rendered at a faster frame rate and still keep the game physics exactly the same?

• What is a safe resolution to make the game at? It would be designed to be primarily played on a desktop, but I would like to have support for other things. How does one go about doing that?

• I would eventually want to make the game playable online, possibly with a replay system. What considerations should I be making while developing regarding that?

• Can you give me any advice on constructing an input manager that can handle input from various sources?

• What would be a good way to implement a finite state machine for the characters that can handle extreme complexity in a readable format?

• What would be a good way to implement a character system where characters have key stats about how they move and feel? This would handle changing characters and injecting them into the levels.

• What is a good way to handle hitboxes, hurtboxes, and collisions in a precise way? How can these hitboxes and hurtboxes be animated to follow the animation of the character during attacks and movement? I plan on using Spine models for everything, so how would affect things?