How to do shaders with HF 4+ and OpenFL8?

• I am new to shaders and I keep googling and finding all kinds of contradicting answers and examples from varying years back like:
    https://github.com/HaxeFlixel/flixel-demos/tree/dev/Effects/Filters
    and references to how to use GLSL shaders using -Dnext but only for desktop targets.

What is the state now?

• Should I use GLSL shaders (should work with webgl?) or OpenFLs special own style?
    • Where can I learn that OpenFL style if that is recommended?
    • I tried to implement the scanline example (using openfl style) but it flipped my screen up-side-down. Should I somehow tell it to start UV from top or something?
    • Are filtershaders and per-sprite shaders different things or just applied differently?

EDIT:

• is it possible to load a say .frag file to a FlxShader instead of using @:glFragmentSource and a string?

Many thanks
    J

• administrators

It indeed depends on your OpenFL version. OpenFL 8, which we recently added support for, supports GLSL shaders on native targets as well as WebGL (which is also the default HTML5 renderer now with OpenFL 8, as opposed to canvas).

Should I use GLSL shaders (should work with webgl?) or OpenFLs special own style?

I don't think OpenFL really has a "special style", apart from #pragma header it should be standard GLSL.

Where can I learn that OpenFL style if that is recommended?

Check out the flixel demos that use shaders:

I tried to implement the scanline example (using openfl style) but it flipped my screen up-side-down. Should I somehow tell it to start UV from top or something?

Do you have an example of how to reproduce that? Have you tried comparing your code to the demos?

Are filtershaders and per-sprite shaders different things or just applied differently?